Life is Like a Box of Crayons

Hello fellow DIYers I’ve got another project for you! I’m sure you’ve all seen the melting crayon art projects all over Pinterst, but I still wanted to share mine with you because I think it turned out wonderfully! Plus it was a super easy and cheap way for me to have some cool and original art on our walls. So here it is!

First, you need a few things, all of which you probably already have in your home.

You’ll need:

1. Blow-dryer

2. Crayons-I used the box with 96 colors so I could have a lot of color variation

3.Blank Canvas

4. A cloth or newspaper to go under the canvas (it can get a little messy)

5. Your creative juices

IMG_0855 IMG_0856

So now that you’ve got all your supplies its time to get started! It took me a few tries to get the hang of this, but once I did it was pretty simple. The first step is to choose the colors you want. I went with reds. oranges, yellows. and a pop of green to go with the  colors in the room.

Next, unwrap the crayons so you don’t have to worry about that later. Now its time to get melting! I put my blow-dryer on the highest heat setting, but the medium power setting in order to melt the crayon a bit. If you put it on a high power setting its kind of just blows the wax all over the place, which is helpful to move the wax around later, but not so helpful in the melting process.

In order to melt the crayon place the tip on the canvas and apply heat from the blow-dryer. Once it starts to melt you can move the crayon around the canvas to make the desired design. Below is how I started mine.

IMG_0857

It was easier for me to start on the corner because of the look I was trying to achieve. Once you get a few different colors on there you can play around with your blow-dryer settings to move the color around the way you like it. Keep the heat on high, but if you want the wax to puddle and move a littler slower so you can manipulate it a little easier keep the power setting on medium or low, But if you would like more of a splatter effect then kick the power setting up to high.

And here’s the first canvas I did! I decided to orient mine horizontally because I ended up doing two canvases with the design traveling from one canvas to another.

IMG_0858

Here’s the end product with two canvases!

IMG_1288 IMG_1289

I thought they came out so great that I did two larger ones for our powder room in colors of blue.

IMG_0881 IMG_1290

Both of these were pretty simple to do and I think they add a little extra something to both spaces. Hope this gives you all some ideas for your space! Enjoy and keep ADAPTING!

One thought on “Life is Like a Box of Crayons

Leave a Reply

